Rodney out, Whangaparāoa in

Voters in the former electorate of Rodney will vote in either Whangaparaoa or Kaipara ki Mahurangi in the next General Election.

On April 17, the Representation Commission released its final report on the electorate boundary review, which started six months ago.

The name Rodney disappears and voters on the Hibiscus Coast and Dairy Flat (from Hatfields Beach south to around Paremoremo) will move to the Whangaparaoa electorate.

The remainder of the former Rodney electorate, and the southern part of the Northland electorate (Te Arai, Tapora, Wellsford) form part of the new electorate of Kaipara ki Mahurangi, which also takes in the former Helensville electorate. The new electorate stretches south almost to Waitakere.

There are name changes for 10 existing electorates in total.

Commission chair Judge Craig Thompson says the names were either proposed by the commission or suggested in public submissions to better describe the redrawn electorate areas.

Judge Thompson says that where possible, the commission has maintained existing electorate boundaries and no changes have been made to 36 electorates. The boundaries of 30 general and five Māori electorates have been adjusted to some degree.

The number of electorates in the Auckland region has increased from 24 to 25. The new electorate is in South Auckland and its final name following public consultation is Takanini. In total, there are 72 electorates – 65 general electorates and seven Māori electorates.

The areas where there have been the most boundary changes are the Auckland region, Waikato, Christchurch, Otago and Southland.

The proposed electorates were released for public comment last November and 438 written submissions were received. Public hearings were held in February.

“Now the boundaries and names have been finalised, we’d encourage people to go to to check which electorate they are in.”

The final electorates can be viewed through interactive mapping at Electorate maps and the Report of the Representation Commission 2020 can be downloaded from the website.

The changes do not affect the local government boundary names – the Hibiscus Coast still falls under Hibiscus & Bays for its local board and Albany Ward for the Council’s governing body.

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now