New teams announced at Mahurangi rugby prize giving

Kade Banks was awarded best back, most tries, and most points.

“You’re never too pretty to play rugby,” and “forwards win games, and backs determine by how much,” were a couple of classic quotes gathered from the boys to start off the prizegiving at Mahurangi Rugby Club on Friday, July 26.

Director Ian Bradnam announced that the club was looking to add a premier 2 team in addition to its premier 1 for next season in an effort to keep more players involved.

He also said the club would field a women’s sevens team next year, and, if that goes well, the club will look at a women’s tens team.

“Tell your mates that we have women here now, and that one thing leads to another,” he said.

Bradnam congratulated Kade Banks and Pale Voatangi, who have been selected for the North Harbour U21 representative team.

Banks put 98 points on the board for Mahurangi during the season and was awarded best back, most tries and most points.

Highlights of the premier’s season included a 12-7 victory over Silverdale, with Haden Kose playing his 250th game, Lyall Robertson playing his 100th and Scott Fabricius earning his blazer.

Kose said the premiere team struggled for numbers towards the second half of the season, but the team stuck it out and played with a lot of heart.

Chairwoman Charmaine Gravatt was awarded the Wharehine Contractors Club Person of the Year award for her service to Mahurangi Rugby.

Honours List

Best back, most tries and most points: Kade Banks.
Best team man: Ryan Meek.
Mark Ryburn Memorial coaches award: Tane Pendergast.
Kevin Letcher Memorial award: Sam Mason.
Most improved and players’ player of the year: Jake Meek.
Best team man: Brad Leggoe.
Top points scorer: Carlin Dunn.
Top try scorer: Scott Fabricius and Carlin Dunn.
Best back: Scott Fabricius.
Supporters player of the year: Puppy Farrell

Ryan Meek was awarded best team man by Willy Ryburn

Tane Pendergast was awarded the Mark Ryburn Memorial coaches award

Sam Mason, centre, was awarded the Kevin Letcher Memorial award for team commitment.

Left to right, Jake Meek who awarded most improved as well as players’ player of the year, is with Haden Kose, Ian Bradnam and Bruce Stubbs.

Brad Leggoe was awarded best team man

Carlin Dunn, left, was awarded top points scorer and shared the title of top try scorer with Scott Fabricius, right, who was also awarded best back.

Haden Kose, left, presents Puppy Farrell with supporters’ player of the year award.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now