2019 Northland Club Rugby senior season closes

Photo, Peter Nicholson

Tomarata RFC knocked out in semis

The season ended for Tomarata in the semi-finals after a loss to Mid Western. Mid Western ultimately went on to win the Northland club rugby championship south zone final.

The game was played at pace in the first half with both teams playing an offensive style of rugby, unafraid to take the ball out wide when the chance presented itself.

A half time score of 12-7 reflected how closely the teams were matched, coach Phillip Tana said.

“Mid Western took two well executed tries out wide, which saw a 24-10 lead with 19 minutes left to play.

“To their credit, Mid Western are a team who will finish opportunities when presented, which saw an eventual score of 53-10,” he said.

“Even though the season did not end as we would have liked it, there was still plenty of commitment and heart shown right up till the final whistle by our boys. There is a lot this young team can be proud of building up to 2020.”

The club had its prizegiving on July 27, along with the annual married vs singles game, which the married side managed to take out for the first time in five years, with a 68-45 victory.

Best Forward – Bevan Mather
Best Back – Aaron Jaques
Most Improved Rookie of the Year – Rodney Prictor
Wayne B. J. Te Amo Memorial Trophy for Most Committed Tackler –  Isaac McDonald
Top Try Scorer – Danyon Tana and Richie Lockington
Paddy Atkins Memorial Cup for The Players Player – Joel Rongakea
McIntyre Cup for Player of the Year – Joel Rongokea
Roy Gubb Memorial for Club Spirit – Dave Donnelly
Albert Burnan Memorial Trophy for Most Valuable Club Member – Ryan Allen

Photo, Georgia Brierly

Wellsford Premiers look forward as solid season ends

Wellsford Premier Wolves had a good season, coming in the top four in the standings tables with very little between them and table leaders, Waipu.

Sadly, they were knocked out in a semi-final game against Waipu, with a 57-7 loss.

The club has a lot to be proud of, though, with five players being selected to play for the 2019 Northland Squad, including Paddy-Joe Atkins, Ross Wright, Sean Sweetman, Jordan Hyland and Rene Ranger.

Wellsford U19s players Sage Walters-Hansen and Kingi Herewini were also selected for the 2019 Northland U19 Squad for the national tournament.

At the prize giving it was announced that Stu Oldfield will be head coach for the senior Wolves team for the 2020 season, giving the club confidence that planning is already underway.

Forward of the year –  Paddy-Joe Atkins
Back of the year – Neil Warnock
Rookie of the Year – Sage Walters-Hansen
Players Player, player of the year, most points and most tries – Matty Wright

Photo, Elioth Magna

Otamatea Hawks relegated after tough season

The Otamatea Hawks Premier team were scheduled for a relegation match with Moerewa United Kawakawa, after ending the season at the bottom of the Premiers tables. It was a close game but, sadly, ended in a 20-12 loss for Otamatea.

There’s plenty of good news coming from the club in the junior grades, however, with Jayden Kemp and Tyler Foster making the Northland U19 representative team.

The Kaipara Wolves U18 side, which is made up of players from Otamatea, Dargaville and Wellsford, also won the Northland U18 championship in the final against Kerikeri.

Northland Club Rugby Winners

Championship: Moerewa United Kawakawa Snr
Premiers: Waipu RSC
Premiers Reserve: Waipu RSC
First XV and U18: Kaipara Wolves


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now