One Warkworth celebrates successful first year

Sponsors of the One Warkworth Business Association were acknowledged at the organisation’s annual meeting held at the Bridgehouse on August 23.

Chair Chris Murphy said the association had raised close to $100,000 in sponsorship from local businesses over the past 12 months, in addition to the $15,000 raised through membership.

“With this income, we have been able to employ a part-time secretary and manager, and these have proven to be essential in the context of our success to date,” he said.

Mr Murphy reflected on the five issues that the committee had prioritised over the last year – Buy Local to support local business, CBD revitalisation, roading and parking, fibre (UFB) and a spatial plan.

“As an organisation, we have been through a consolidation process and are now stronger than ever, but we will need the business community’s ongoing support to continue to make a difference.”

Since his appointment as manager six months ago, Murray Chapman has been involved in growing membership, organising a series of successful business networking events and negotiating better buying deals for members.

“It has been an exciting six months,” Mr Chapman said. “One Warkworth will continue to grow, and I urge members to get involved.”

Officers re-elected:

Chair Chris Murphy; vice chair Mark Macky; and committee members Liz Bayes, Hugh Harvey, Dave Morrison, Lance O’Callaghan, Christine Liggins, Burnette Macnicol, Jacqueline Ironside, David Hay, and Jannette Thompson. Former committee member John Kyle did not seek re-election due to retirement and he was replaced on the committee by Dave Stott.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now